thebutterchronicles

filling the empty nest with food

Lent in New Orleans

photoI recently returned from a short trip to New Orleans, arriving a few days after Mardi Gras. Given that Mardi Gras is a Catholic tradition and as I’m still (or, rather, so far still) a practicing Catholic, I was curious as to what happens in New Orleans during Lent.  After a few days walking the streets and squeezing into crowded jazz clubs, I realized how naive I was to believe that Mardi Gras has much to do with being the last day of gorging yourself on rich foods and other excesses before Lenten abstinence and penance begins.  Instead, the traditions of drunken revelry and pleasurable excess seem to be followed by a short period of subdued hangovers until St. Patrick’s Day arrives. New Orleans seems to do quite well extending a Mardi Gras approach to every day.

So, rather than wallow in the deprivation mode of the Lenten season, I did as the New Orleanians do. Laissez les bon temps rouler!

Mix yourself up a New Orleans Sazerac cocktail, press play on some great New Orleans music (below), and know that while good Catholics shouldn’t eat meat on Fridays during Lent, I can find no current admonition to avoid loud jazz.  Turn the volume all the way up!  And let me know what it does for your soul.

5 comments on “Lent in New Orleans

  1. Caroline
    February 24, 2013

    Is that you in your Party Gras striped leggings in the photo?!

  2. Mom
    February 24, 2013

    Dad would love it. Nice to see the jazz gene carry on.

  3. Josette Antomarchi
    March 6, 2013

    Kathy,I love your site your personal stories and choices of food.
    Thank you for turning me on to Meschiya Lake singing the new Orleans blues!
    A good shot in the arm in this last winter storm.
    Do you have good tips for “Pignoli cookies”?I seem to have trouble keeping them light…

    • Catherine
      March 6, 2013

      Chère Josette, I’m glad you like Meschiya Lake. She sounds even better in person, but in person or online, she’s wonderful! I haven’t made pignoli cookies, but I’ll give them a try and let you know what I learn.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , .

Join 95 other followers

Follow thebutterchronicles on WordPress.com

archives

