thebutterchronicles

filling the empty nest with food

What the Heck is a Gougère?

Lots of people around me seem to be trying out healthier ways of eating than our standard American cuisine.  What were once fads or “alternative” diets, now are commonplace.  Students I work with are regularly vegan or vegetarian.  Some good friends are following a “plant-based” diet–which, fortunately, includes beer and wine or our evenings out might not be so lively.  And one of my sisters, over at Elsie Marley, who has three small children, is eliminating all wheat.  She’s always fed her children high-quality food, so this decision comes from a goal of staving off gluten intolerance in her kids.  Her diet, unfortunately, does not include beer.  BTW, can you live in Wisconsin and not drink beer?!?  I would think they’d kick you out of the state.

But back to the gougères.  I have embarked on my own experiment with healthier cooking and eating.  Since I’m not cooking for children anymore, I’ve decided to stop buying prepared foods.  It was easy to declare and I felt instantly virtuous.  But, then the questions started piling up.  What’s my definition of  “prepared”, I wondered.   Will I be butchering my own cows?  Grinding my own wheat?  Churning all that butter?  Good questions, and ones I’ll need to be pondering in the days to come.

But for now, it was clear when I stopped by the grocery store the other night salivating over my plan to buy a loaf of crusty French bread (is it ever possible to describe French bread without the adjective “crusty”?) and a small wheel of Hervé Mons Camembert–to accompany the roasted red pepper soup my husband was whipping up at home–that my plan, which sounded eminently doable when I hatched it–was going to require some serious changes in my kitchen.

Of course, I realized with sadness that bread is a prepared food.  So is cheese, but I’m not currently capable of making that at home.  I bought the cheese but left the warm, wonderful-smelling, crusty bread on the shelf.

So, needing something bread-like to whip up in the 20 minutes or so that the soup needed to simmer, I found a recipe for gougères.  They’re French cheese puffs.  Mostly flour, water, butter (natch!), eggs, and cheese.  They looked simple but turned out not exactly simple to make or fast.  But interesting–and soft, warm and cheesy right from the oven.  Here’s David Lebovitz’s recipe and instructions.  Be sure to check out his photos, since his gougères look more appetizing than mine.

My gougères wouldn’t be allowed in the vegan or wheat-free diets, but they did qualify for me as a non-prepared food!

4 comments on “What the Heck is a Gougère?

  1. Antonia
    October 24, 2012

    If you ever want to cheat, Rustica bakery in the strip mall Northwest of Lake Calhoun sells delicious gougeres! I’m enjoying your blog. Keep it up!

    • Catherine
      October 24, 2012

      Thanks, Antonia. I’d like to try out someone elses’s gougeres. It might spur me to try them again and improve on my first batch.

  2. Carol
    October 26, 2012

    What a “loverly” response to the empty nest reverberations…count me in. Carol

  3. Butter Boy
    November 3, 2012

    Where is a new post? I was looking for a new post!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.

Join 95 other followers

Follow thebutterchronicles on WordPress.com

archives

